Turbine

Institute of Aircraft Propulsion Systems (ILA)

Research, teaching, and test procedures at the Institute of Aircraft Propulsion Systems focus on life cycle analyses, condition monitoring of aeronautical engines, structural mechanics, and aero propulsion systems of the future.

What ILA does?

Turbojet engines: these are the machines that propel airplanes. At the Institute of Aircraft Propulsion Systems (ILA), everything revolves around turbo engines and air-breathing aero propulsion systems.

ILA research areas represent four perspectives on conceptualizing, designing, and operating turbojet engines in theory and practice. We do basic research, simulate high tech propulsion systems and carry out testing of prototypes.

These are our four research areas:

  • Life cycle analysis
  • Condition monitoring
  • Structural mechanics
  • Aeronautical propulsion systems of the future

To lift off, we stay on the ground

Test stands for aeronautical engines are an Institute specialty. Whole engines or their modules can be fired up in our hangars so we can observe how they perform at high altitudes. We can directly measure and observe how they operate under different air pressure, temperature and humidity conditions, using a variety of stand-alone measuring apparatus and high-performance computers.

We are continually improving and expanding ILA’s facilities at the University of Stuttgart, so that our measurements and tests can contribute to the development of next-generation turbo jet engines.

Aircraft propulsion systems studies

In both theory and practice, aeronautical propulsion systems are a subject in aerospace engineering. Bachelor’s students learn the fundamentals requisite for an engineering career. The Master’s study program offers you the chance to complete  a construction of your own design.

Studying at ILA

Contact

Dieses Bild zeigt Koch
Dr.-Ing.

Christian Koch

Academic employee, Academic advisor

Dieses Bild zeigt Kuhn
Dr.-Ing.

Klaus Kuhn

Academic employee

 

Institute of Aircraft Propulsion Systems

Pfaffenwaldring 6, 70569 Stuttgart

Dieses Bild zeigt Turbine

Willkommen am

Institut für Luftfahrtantriebe (ILA)

Forschung, Lehre und Prüfvorgänge am Institut für Luftfahrtantriebe beschäftigen sich mit Lebenszyklusanalysen, Zustandsüberwachung von Flugtriebwerken, Strukturmechanik und Flugantrieben der Zukunft.

Was macht das ILA?

Turboluftstrahltriebwerk: Mit einer solchen Maschine gelingt es Flugzeugen zu fliegen. Am Institut für Luftfahrtantriebe (ILA) dreht sich alles um Turbomaschinen und luftatmende Flugantriebe.

Aus vier Perspektiven behandeln die Forschungsbereiche des ILA die Konzeption, Auslegung und den Betrieb von Turbo-Luftstrahl-Triebwerken in Theorie und Praxis. Am ILA werden Grundlagen erforscht, High-Tech-Antriebe simuliert und Prototypen geprüft.

Die vier Forschungsbereiche sind:

  • Lebenszyklusanalyse
  • Zustandsüberwachung
  • Strukturmechanik
  • Flugantriebe der Zukunft

Fürs Abheben am Boden bleiben

Eine Besonderheit des Instituts sind seine Prüfanlagen für Flugtriebwerke. In den Hallen können ganze Triebwerke oder ihre Module in Betrieb genommen werden. Sie werden dort auf ihr Verhalten in großen Flughöhen untersucht. Ihr Verhalten unter verschiedenen Luftdruck-,  Lufttemperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeitsverhältnissen wird direkt gemessen und beobachtet. Dazu tragen viele einzelne Messgeräte und Hochleistungsrechner bei.

Die Anlagen werden laufend verbessert und erweitert. Mit den Messungen und Prüfungen trägt das ILA an der Universität Stuttgart zur Entwicklung von Technologien für die nächste Generationen an Turbo-Luftstrahl-Triebwerken bei.

Luftfahrtantriebe im Studium

Luftfahrtantriebe sind in Theorie und Praxis Thema in den Studiengängen der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik. Im Bachelorstudium lernen Studierende die Grundlagen, die für den Ingenieursberuf Voraussetzung sind. Vertiefungen und die Möglichkeit, eine eigene Konstruktionsarbeit durchzuführen, bietet der Masterstudiengang.

Lehre am ILA

Kontakt

Dieses Bild zeigt Koch
Dr.-Ing.

Christian Koch

Akademischer Mitarbeiter, Fachstudienberater

Dieses Bild zeigt Kuhn
Dr.-Ing.

Klaus Kuhn

Akademischer Mitarbeiter

 

Institut für Luftfahrtantriebe

Pfaffenwaldring 6, 70569 Stuttgart